Sunday: August 20, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : Honor Guard Unit

Honor Guard Unit

HonorGuardnDisser

Overview

An Honor Guard is a group of people serving as an escort or performing drill exhibitions at ceremonial occasions.   In 2011, the Port Huron Police Department started the departments honor guard unit, which is called upon several times per year to provide posting of the colors at various public events, as well as to provide honor guard services at funerals for fallen officers.  In July of 2011, the honor guard was privileged during a sad time in the law enforcement community and within the department, when it served its own department by standing guard for retired Chief William J. Corbett, who died unexpectedly.  Chief Corbett served his country by serving in the U.S. Air Force, was Port Huron’s Chief of Police for over 17 years and spent over 53 years in law enforcement.
The purpose of the Port Huron Police Department Honor Guard is to represent the department during these ceremonial events. 

About the Team

The Honor Guard Unit is comprised of a Sergeant and 9 Officers.  The supervisor to the unit is appointed by the Captain.  The unit can be utilized at the following events:
- Funeral Details
- Annual Department Awards Ceremony
- Annual 911 Ceremony
- Memorial Services
- Parades
- Dignitary Details
- Opening Ceremony’s of Community Functions
- Any other functions where it is deemed appropriate for the Port Huron Police Department to promote a professional image in the community

About the Members

Officers who are off probation can apply.  Officers are interviewed and the officer’s physical fitness, dependability, availability, daily work performance and their ability to work as a TEAM are considered during the interview process.  Only highly motivated officers are selected for this highly coveted and voluntary position.  Members train bi-monthly within the department and each member will attend the one week DFL Honor Guard School, which is hosted by the Wyandotte Police Department in Wyandotte, Michigan.   

Contact Information:

Honor Guard– Command Officer
Sergeant Chris Frazier    810-984-8415 ext. 1163
frazierc@porthuron.org

Honor Guard – Team Leader
Sergeant Doug Decker    810-984-8415 ext 1904
deckerd@porthuron.org

  

 

Honor Guard


 


Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective E. Krikorian krikorie@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Trooper E. Shumaker shumakee@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715


Det. Lt. R. Wesch ext 1039 weschr@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. C. Bean ext 1042 beanc@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org