Sunday: December 17, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : Motorcycle Unit

P.H.P.D. MOTORCYLE UNIT

PHPD Motorcycle Unit

Overview


In 2013, in response to the increased need for high visibility patrols to help in the suppression of crime and traffic accidents, the Port Huron Police Department established its Motorcycle unit. With help from community members, Harley Davidson Motorcycles were purchased and deployed into selected areas. The Motorcycles are highly mobile, fuel efficient, and can be utilized where a normal patrol unit cannot. In addition, by utilizing non traditional patrol vehicles in the neighborhoods, it has proven to be an effective community relations tool and has helped to strengthen the communication between the Police Officers and citizens, focused on improving the quality of life issues in the neighborhoods.  



About The Team


The Port Huron Police Officers assigned to the unit have all received at least 80 hours of specialized training in the safe, effective and efficient operation of the Motorcycles prior to enforcement operations. The Officers are also required to attend an annual training refresher to maintain their skill levels in both high and low speed operation. The majority of the costs associated with the equipment and training for the unit were minimal due to the utilization of forfeiture funds and a successful grant award. This has helped make the deployment of the unit a success.      


Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective C. Bean beanc@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Officer R. Sheedy sheedyr@porthuron.org
Trooper N. Tucker tuckern@porthuron.org
Officer J. Disser disserj@porthuron.org
Officer R. Philage philager@porthuron.org
Agent M. Ball ballm@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715


Det. Lt. R. Wesch ext 1039 weschr@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Krikorian ext 1042 krikorie@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org