Saturday: October 21, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : DARE Program

DARELogo



The D.A.R.E. Mission “Teaching students good decision-making skills to help them lead safe and healthy lives”

The D.A.R.E. Vision “A world in which students everywhere are empowered to respect others and choose to lead lives free from violence, substance abuse, and other dangerous behaviors.”


 

The Port Huron Police Department has one dedicated D.A.R.E. officer. Officer Patrick Eash is the current D.A.R.E. officer and is the only one in St. Clair County. Officer Eash has served the citizens of Port Huron as a police officer since spring 2010. Officer Eash attended specialized training in Fishers, Indiana in summer 2016, where he became a certified D.A.R.E. instructor.

The D.A.R.E. program is taught to all 5th graders within the City of Port Huron. Since there are seven elementary schools within the city and only one D.A.R.E. officer, Officer Eash teaches at half of the schools during the fall semester and the other half in the spring semester.

D.A.R.E. is a nationally recognized, collaborative effort between law enforcement, schools, parents, and community leaders. Its goal is to provide children with an opportunity to learn and practice good decision-making skills so that they lead safe and responsible lives. Students not only learn about the dangers of drug abuse, but about decision making, risk, stress, communication, peer pressure, and bullying.

Officer Eash also spends time at the local middle and high schools on a request basis. He teaches a variety of subjects, including intoxicated driving awareness, the dangers of drug abuse, “sexting,” and bullying.

The PHPD D.A.R.E. officer serves a dual role as the Community Services Officer (CSO). As the CSO, Officer Eash is in charge of the VIPS program, CAPTURE fundraising, the Citizen’s Police Academy, and community policing. He also teaches special classes, on a request basis, to a variety of groups throughout the city.

To contact Officer Eash, send an email to eashp@porthuron.org or call (810) 984-9715.



Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective E. Krikorian krikorie@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Trooper N. Tucker tuckern@porthuron.org
Officer J. Disser disserj@porthuron.org
Officer R. Philage philager@porthuron.org
Agent M. Ball ballm@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715


Det. Lt. R. Wesch ext 1039 weschr@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. C. Bean ext 1042 beanc@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org