Sunday: December 17, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : Job Openings in Policing
Job Openings in Policing
Current Full Time Openings:
Current Part Time Openings:

Applications with resume are required for all full time positions.

They may be dropped off or mailed to:

City of Port Huron
Municipal Office Center
Human Resources Department
100 McMorran Blvd.
Room 201
Port Huron, MI 48060

Phone: 810-984-9723

Office hours are Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

An Equal Opportunity Employer • Equal Housing Opportunity

Job applications are provided in PDF format.


Police Cadet

The City of Port Huron is currently accepting applications for the following part-time employment opportunity:

 

POLICE CADET

GENERAL STATEMENT OF DUTIES:  Accept and prepare preliminary reports of criminal complaints and accidents of a minor nature.  Perform specific patrol duties within assigned areas as a visible deterrent.  Enforce City ordinances authorized by the Department.  Perform related work as required or directed to.

 

SUPERVISION RECEIVED:  Work is performed under the direct supervision of a Lieutenant, Sergeant or other superior officer.

 

SUPERVISION EXERCISED:  None.

 

TYPICAL EXAMPLES OF WORK:  Employees in this class may be called upon to do any or all of the following: (These examples do not include all of the tasks which the employee may be expected to perform.)

 

Ø  Accept and prepare preliminary reports of criminal complaints and accidents of a minor nature.

Ø  Perform specific, limited patrol duties.

Ø  Effectively communicate with people by listening, giving information, directions, etc.

Ø  Obtain statements from victims, witnesses, and suspects.

Ø  Serve subpoenas.

Ø  Maintain log and accurately record all equipment being issued and returned.

Ø  Monitor security cameras.

Ø  Keep work area stocked with necessary supplies and equipment.

Ø  Verify bond money.

Ø  Log-in persons arrested.

Ø  Bond-out persons arrested.

Ø  Prepare supplemental reports.

Ø  Assist the on-duty command officers or other superior officers when requested.

Ø  Confiscate/preserve evidence and found property.

Ø  Perform Parking enforcement, as well as, beach, park and canal patrols; take enforcement action when deemed required.

Ø  Perform related duties as required.

 

DESIRABLE QUALIFICATIONS FOR EMPLOYMENT:

 

Ø  Attending college, enrolled in law enforcement or related field.

Ø  Maintain a 2.0 or better GPA.

Ø  Good moral character with no major contacts with any law enforcement agency.

Ø  Ability to communicate and interact with fellow employees, other agencies and various types of people.

Ø  Ability to accurately prepare written reports and forms.

Ø  Legible handwriting and spelling skills.

Ø  Ability to maintain a satisfactory work record.

 

Additional Qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years or older.
  • Must possess a current, valid State of Michigan Driver License with a good driving record.
  • Must be a high school graduate or possess a G.E.D.

Wage:

Starting wage:             $8.90/hour

First year:                    $9.40/hour

Second year:              $10.40/hour

 

To apply:  Applications can be obtained from the Human Resources Department or downloaded from www.porthuron.org.

 

Original job applications will be accepted in person or by mail at:  City of Port Huron, Human Resources, 100 McMorran Blvd., Port Huron, MI  48060.  If mailed, must be postmarked by the deadline date listed below.

 

APPLICATION DEADLINE:  Open until filled.

 

** EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER **

Download Application


Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective C. Bean beanc@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Officer R. Sheedy sheedyr@porthuron.org
Trooper N. Tucker tuckern@porthuron.org
Officer J. Disser disserj@porthuron.org
Officer R. Philage philager@porthuron.org
Agent M. Ball ballm@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715


Det. Lt. R. Wesch ext 1039 weschr@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Krikorian ext 1042 krikorie@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org